My Introduction to Yoli

Beginning my journeyto a healthier me

After years of struggling with my weight, trying diets and gym memberships, I am pretty frustrated. I am currently at my highest weight and have been going around with the attitude that I don’t give a shit. I hardly ever eat breakfast or lunch, grab fast food at least once a week, eat junk food as I binge-watch television shows, and don’t do any exercising. I have no energy and have a hard time focusing. I work 40+ hours a week with a schedule that is far from 9 to 5. Plus, I just started the first class toward my Master’s degree, which will add 10+ hours of work to my schedule. So at this point it is very important that I have energy and am able to focus on what needs to get done. Two weeks ago, my mother called me. She was very excited about this new system that she had started, called Yoli. My aunt (who is a nurse) had started selling it after having great results. Being depressed about my weight and at a point where I really knew I need to change, I was willing to try it despite the price.

I spent this past weekend doing some more research, looking up recipes, and going grocery shopping. I got my Yoli – Better Body System (BBS) Transformation Kit in the mail last night, and started on Day 1 today (Tuesday, July 14). Today was a good day to start because I didn’t have to be at work until 1pm, so I had time to plan for the day and go through by box. Your Transformation Kit includes: Passion Energy Drink, YES Protein Shake, Alkalete tablets, and PURE tablets. The idea of BBS is to eat lots of protein (at least half your weight in grams) and less carbs so that your body is forced to use the stored fat as energy. There are protein days and carb days, and you are encouraged to keep a good variety of vegetables in your diet to always keep your body guessing. Along with this high protein, low carb “diet”, the system includes Alkalete tablets. These are also an important part of the program, because they help level out the pH level in your body. Americans have become so used to eating fake/processed food that our bodies just do not know how to process it anymore. I hesitate to call this a “diet” because it is really more of a lifestyle – learning what your body needs and eating the foods that are going to give you the energy you need. Our bodies have become a fat storing machine rather than a fat burning machine. It has been very interesting to read about the system and the science behind it all. BBS is not a weight loss program, it is a body system with weight loss as a side effect. Eating correctly and balancing your pH level will result in your body working correctly, causing you to shed the extra pounds.

Another important piece of this program is drinking water. Lots and lots of water. I have read about how important drinking water is, but it didn’t really sink in. According to BBS, you are supposed to drink half your weight in ounces. That is a lot of water! But if you think about it, it makes sense. The body is 60% water, your blood is 92% water, your brain and muscles are 72% water, and your bones about 22% water. The body can go a month without food, but only a week without water. Our bodies need water. Though I didn’t start the BBS until today, I started drinking more water last week while I waiting for my stuff to arrive.  My first goal was to try and get at least 96 oz of water (though I need more than that). I succeeded for a couple of days, but it is really hard when you are not used to it. But the system really depends on getting enough water. Your body needs the water to hydrate itself, but it also uses it to flush out toxins. Though I am running to the bathroom every half hour, my skin is clearer and I have more energy!

For BBS, it is suggested that you cut out coffee and tea. This is because they are acidic and the purpose of the Alkalete is to level out your pH. I decided to do this a week before I started the system because I didn’t want to have to go through caffeine withdrawal at the same time that I was trying to make new eating habits. I did pretty well last week without the coffee – only craved it for a day or two. I don’t usually drink a lot of coffee anyway, so that probably helped. Part of the system is called Passion. This is your morning and afternoon energy boost. It comes in a powder that you mix with water, and I was excited to find that it tastes pretty good. And it definitely gave me lots of energy! I felt so motivated that I sat down at my computer and wrote over a 1000 words (which turned into this post). I haven’t had the motivation to write a post for a couple months now. It says to mix it with 8-12 oz of water, but that was too sweet for me, so I put it in an 18 oz bottle.

Along with eating eggs, chicken, beef, nuts, etc for your protein, a YES Protein Shake is also part of the morning and evening system. I tried Shakeology last year as a meal substitute and did not like it at all, because I could not get over the taste of Stevia. Stevia is natural and is chosen as a sugar substitute because it doesn’t raise your blood-sugar level. When my mother told me that the YES shakes had stevia, I was a little worried, because she said she could taste it. However, with the results she was having, I was willing to give it a try. This morning I tried my first shake, mixed with Almond Breeze Almond Coconut Milk, plain Greek yogurt, and some spinach. Instead of gulping it down, which is what I had to do with the Shakeology, I was actually able to enjoy it. It does have some stevia taste, but not anywhere near as much as Shakeology. I am looking forward to experimenting with different ingredients to keep it interesting, plus it is nice that in your first BBS kit you get both chocolate and vanilla shake packets.

Knowing myself as well as I do, I know that planning is going to be the biggest habit to create. I am not good at taking the time to make a lunch, nevermind taking the time to think of lunch as well as a bunch of other snacks to take with me. Like I did this past weekend, I will have to spend some of the weekend shopping and putting together ideas. Getting up earlier (which means going to bed earlier) is definitely going to be a goal that will help me start the day off right and ensure I have time to pack what I need. The other big challenge will be the junk food. I am expecting some major craving / withdrawal symptoms after all the processed food I have been eating. My goal is to make sure that I mix things up enough that it stays interesting so Il will be less likely to get bored and revert back to my old habits.  By week three of the system, you are allowed to have a cheat meal once a week. This serves two purposes: (1) to help you make this a lifestyle and not a diet (2) to keep your body guessing about what food to expect.

I know that this is what I really need to do – for more than just losing weight. It will be a better lifestyle that will greatly improve my quality of living. It has been a week without coffee and drinking more water, and at the time of writing this only 3.5 hours since my Passion drink and YES shake, and I already feel full of energy! Maybe it is just because I got up early, had something new to think about, and am actually sitting down to write (which I haven’t done in a few months).  But whatever the case, I am really excited to start this new journey.

I hope to write about some of the new foods that I am eating and making for Food Fridays posts.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “My Introduction to Yoli

  1. […] Body System (BBS) this week as a way to start making some life changes. You can find that post HERE. Part of this lifestyle change is a complete overhaul of what I eat. I had gotten to a point where […]

Leave a Comment

