Food: Kale Soup

Kale Soup

I am not usually a soup lover, but this is one that I would eat anytime. As soon as the weather gets cold, I can’t wait to make a pot. This recipe was passed down from my grandmother and was a dish that my family always loved. Kale is like a power vegetable, with more iron than beef, more calcium than milk, and lots of vitamin C and K, as well as antioxidants. However, I never knew all of that as a kid – I just liked the soup. That is why I wanted to share it with you.

2

 

The Ingredients:

1 Carrot, 1 Small Onion

1 lb Potatoes

4 Cups Beef Broth

4 Cups Chicken Broth

14.5 oz Stewed Tomatoes

15 oz Kidney Beans, 15 oz Black Beans

Linguica or Chourico

8 Cups Kale

 

** Linguica is a mild portuguese sausage and Chourice is the hot version – so you can choose.

The Process:

First, I peel and dice the potatoes. When I boil them, I try not to over cook them because I don’t want them to fall apart when the soup is reheated later. After putting them in the strainer, I rinse out the pot and dump in the Linguica, sliced carrot, and diced onion to brown them up.

3Then I add the 8 cups of broth. Though there are stewed tomatoes in the recipes, I only put them in right out of the can when other people are eating at my house. If I am making it for myself, I puree the tomatoes and add it to the broth. I like the flavor that the tomatoes give the soup, but I hate pieces of tomato in my soup.

Next, I strain and add the two cans of beans. It is really up to you what kind of beans you add. I just use whatever I happen to have in the cupboard. I noticed you can buy baby kale, but I usually just buy the value bag and trim the thick parts of the stem. Just like spinach, kale shrinks quite a bit – and since it is my favorite part of the soup, I add as much as I can. Once the kale is almost tender, I put the potatoes back into the pot.

4The cook time is 10 minutes, but that depends on how tender you want the kale. The same thing that I said about the potatoes being over cooked goes for the kale. If you plan to reheat it, you may not want to cook it as much. I like the kale to stay a nice bright green.

Once in a bowl, you can top it with a little Parmesan cheese with some bread on the side. Enjoy!

 

 

Follow me on Pinterest and Instagram

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Food: Kale Soup

  1. Food: Chourico Stir-Fry | Moved to Create February 27, 2015 at 3:28 pm Reply

    […] talked a little bit about Linguica and Chourico in my Kale Soup post, but Chourico (shudees) is a hot Portuguese sausage. You can also get Linguica (lingweesa), […]

Leave a Comment

