500 Word Challenge: Day 16

Gosh. “Give hope” is the prompt for Day 16. As I sit here staring at my screen, I am wondering exactly how I am supposed to “give hope” and the only thing that is coming to my mind are the lyrics to “Tomorrow” from Annie. But I think that such a topic deserves some serious thought.

I am a religious person and have always found hope in knowing that God is always in control. It has taken me a long time to understand that trusting God to take care of my needs does not mean that He is going to prevent bad things from happening. But He will help me get through those bad times. I honestly do not know how people get through their daily life without the hope that is in Christ. 

Romans 12:12 “Let your hope keep you joyful, be patient in your troubles, and pray at all times.” I chose this verse because it is one of my favorites. I believe that as Christians we can have hope, because Jesus has promised us eternal life (Titus 1:2). No matter what comes our way, there is a purpose for it. I really believe that. Though I have not had any truly awful things happen to me, I have had my fair share of trials and tribulations. It has only been by steadfast prayer and patience that I have been able to make it through. It is amazing to see how you have changed when you reach the other side of the storm. God has perfect timing. Isaiah 40:31 “But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Knowing that if we put our trust in Him, wait on his perfect timing, pray for his guidance and strength, He will give us hope. If we do not have hope, how can we have true joy? Being able to put my faith in God, gives me the hope and joy to face the day – no matter what comes.

A lot of people do not have family and friends that will stand by them in hard times. And even if you do, sometimes you want to keep your struggles to yourself. The same goes for rejoicing when you have made it through the struggles. I have heard the saying: You are either going into a storm, in a storm, or just coming out of a storm. It seems like a very negative way to look at life, but I think it is far better to know in advance that life is not easy. If you know what is to come, you can be prepared and take advantage of the good times. Zephaniah 3:17 “The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.” Christ is always with us, no matter where we are in relation to that storm. This verse is full of hope! He is always with us and has saved us from eternal hell. He rejoices with us in times of laughter, and His shoulder is always there for tears. Just writing this brings such joy to my heart, and I wish everyone could feel the hope that Christ has given us. I know storms will come, but He is my firm foundation and without it I honestly don’t know how I would get through life. I read a Joyce Meyer quote some time ago, and it has always stuck with me: “Hope gives us the ability to look at things the way they are and still be confident that something better is coming.” You still have to face the daily struggle of life, but you don’t have to do it alone, and you can have hope that there will be better days to come.

WC: 661

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Comment

