500 Word Challenge: Day 15

500 word challenge day 15Day 15 is about evaluating yourself and the challenge so far.

I have to say that this challenge has been easier than I expected. Not that the prompts have been easy, but that I have been so excited to jump on my computer and write! I did have a little trouble last weekend staying on track, but I didn’t give up. This challenge has brought out the passion that I have for writing. I had really forgotten how much I love to write my thoughts down. On the first day, I had a hard time just getting 500 words down. But with each passing day, it became easier and I found myself writing passed the 500 word count. Though I would love to have more discussions/comments, I am enjoying writing just for myself and seeing what comes out of my head.

Continuing on with the challenge once work started up again was harder. I haven’t been able to get up first thing in the morning and work on it, so it usually gets done during my lunch break or later at night. But other than Days 11 & 12 I have gotten it done and really looked forward to doing it. I started Day 11, but for some reason didn’t finish it. Day 12, I have to admit was a tough one. I didn’t even give myself a chance to try it. It looked too challenging for the day I was having, and I doubted my ability to do it. Though I wish that I had pushed myself to try it, I am glad that I picked up the next day and carried on. In order to become a better writer, I need to push myself to try things that I don’t think I can do. Deciding to do this challenge was a great start, but just doing the prompts that I feel comfortable doing isn’t going to help me out. In order to finish NaNoWriMo this year, I am going to have to get outside my comfort zone. As long as I don’t expect too much too fast, if I just do my best, I will continue to be challenged and not frustrated.

This challenge has definitely charged my writing! I actually sat down the other day, and though I had already written my 500 words for the day, I had something else I wanted to write about. I ended up writing about 1500 words about binging on television shows. What started out as kind of a rant turned into a 2 part blog post! I probably should have gone back and edited a lot of it so it could be fit into one post, but I was so excited that the words were pouring out of me.

Even though I am only halfway done with this first challenge, I am very excited to find another challenge to start after this one. Along with the challenges, I am excited to put together some research for my NaNoWriMo, work on writing some more reviews, and find random other topics to write about.

WC: 502

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Comment

