500 Word Challenge: Day 3

500-Word-Challenge-Day-3For Day #3, I am talking about finding time to write. In every book or article that I have ever read about writing, it is always stated that you must set aside time to write. We all know how often something actually gets done if we don’t make specific plans for it to get done. Other things come up, we are too tired – there are hundreds of excuses that we all use. That is why it is so important to block out time every day to write. Fortunately, I don’t have a family to take care of or work around. However it still surprises me how hard it is to find time for all the things I want to do. I don’t want this blog to turn into a place for me to dump all my personal problems, but I think that this relates to the topic (somehow): I have had a hard time coming to grips with the fact that I am now an adult and need to start acting like one. I have a great job, but need to start taking it more seriously. I think that just this one little change that I am making – the writing challenge – will help me figure out what it really important to me and how I am going to make time for those things.

How am I going to make time? This first week of January I am on vacation, so I really have nothing but time to write. I thought that this would be a good way to ease into writing every day. I do have a very big concern with finding the time to write once I go back to work. Though my schedule is a little lighter this year, the first couple weeks of the year are always crazy. The prompt suggested that writing first thing in the morning, before the day begins, is the best time to write. I agree with this, but it is so hard to get up any earlier than I have to – especially when I am also trying to fit in morning gym time. I don’t know why it is so hard to balance all the different things in my life – I don’t even have a family to take care of. If I seem to be succeeding at one thing, the other areas fall apart. So I am a little worried to get really focused on writing, because I just got my work life back in running order. But I am going to take it one day – one 500 word entry at a time – at a time. Half an hour a day can be done anywhere / anytime.

This entry should have taken me maybe half an hour, but I think it took me two hours! I will really need to rethink having the television on while I am writing. Though I like to have it on normally for background noise, as I sit here I am definitely distracted. Of course it doesn’t help that Doctor Who is on right now! Anyway, my plan for making time to write it to try getting up early so that I can have a morning of leisure with my tea and do some writing.

WC: 543

Tagged:

Leave a Comment

