500 Word Challenge: Day 1

500-Word-Challenge-Day-1

Starting 2015 off right

For Day #1, I am supposed to announce that I am challenging myself to write 500 words for the next 31 days. I am under no illusion that this is going to be easy. The last time I posted anything to this blog was February 2013. So obviously, though I love to write, it is not something that I have been able to focus on. I decided to do this challenge because writing is important to me, and I would really like to work on becoming a better writer and finding what type of writing I like best.

Right now, I like to write reviews of some of my favorite TV shows, because it combines my love of writing with my love of shows. However, I would like to try some other genres of writing. One of those would be fiction. The last three years that I have attempted the NanNoWriMo were unsuccessful. I think it was mostly due to the fact that I went into it unprepared and not 100% committed. This year I am going to plan ahead and get myself psyched up for November. I would also like to try my hand at some articles on different topics that I am interested in. There are so many possibilities out there, and I think that over the next year I would like to challenge myself to see what I am capable of. Writing isn’t the only thing that I love to do, so I would like to turn some of my other hobbies into inspirations to write. Who knows what will come from it!

So, what are my obstacles going to be? First of all, though I love to write, like many of my students, I have a hard time getting the thoughts from my head to the page. I can come up with great stories and conversations in my head, but I can’t seem to get it down on paper the same way it plays out in my head. This causes a lot of frustration and is definitely one of the reasons why I give up. But I am hoping this gets better with daily practice. Second obstacle will definitely be my love of television! I can’t blame it entirely on Netflix, but they certainly make it easy to get lost in a show. I have been told that I have an obsessive personality, which is definitely true when it comes to TV shows. I can’t just watch one episode!  This has hindered my housecleaning, reading, and my writing. But I am going to stay focused and just take it one day at a time.

A fourth paragraph brings me to 400 words and I am struggling to come up with 100 more words meet the challenge. I guess I could talk about how in order to make this as successful as possible, I created a new writing space. Considering I have already admitted that television is a weakness, I find it awkward to mention that my desk faces a television. So maybe I didn’t think through it all the way. Anyway, I am hoping that by starting this challenge on my vacation will give me a couple of days to get in the habit of writing before jumping back into work.

New office space

WC: 546

Tagged:

Leave a Comment

